Home Nigeria Buhari nominates Muhammed Shehu as RMFC chairman

Buhari nominates Muhammed Shehu as RMFC chairman

Buhari nominates Muhammed Shehu as RMFC chairman

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday asked the Senate to confirm his nominee Mohammed Shehu, as the Chairman of the Revenue Mobilisation and Fiscal Commission (RMFC).

Buhari’s request was contained in a letter from Buhari which was read at plenary on Wednesday by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan.

The letter reads, “In accordance with the provision of Section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I am pleased to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the appointment of Mohammed Bello Shehu, as the Chairman of the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission.

“His CV is attached herewith. 

“It is my hope that the Senate will consider and confirm the nominee in the usual expeditious manner.”

In a related development, the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Wednesday, forwarded President Buhari’s request to confirm the nomination of Joe Aniku Michael Ohiani for appointment as Substantive Director-General/CEO for the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (ICRC) to the Committee on Works. 

Also forwarded was the President’s request for the confirmation of Umar Yahaya as Co-Chairman of the Governing Council of Unclaimed Funds to the Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions. 
Both nominees are expected to appear before the relevant Committees for screening.

The respective Committees were given two weeks to report back to the Senate in plenary.

Also on the floor of the Senate, Senators Francis Ezenwa Onyewuchi (Imo East) and Haliru Dauda Jika (Bauchi Central) defected from their political parties.

Onyewuchi decamped from the Peoples Democratic Party to Labour Party while Jika moved from the All Progressives Congress to the New Nigeria Peoples Party.

Their letters of defection were read on the floor by the Senate President.

The lawmakers cited the lack of transparent internal politics in their former political parties as the reason for their actions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here